The 2018 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are now open!

Established in 1990, the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are the country’s most comprehensive national science awards, celebrating excellence in research & innovation, leadership, science engagement and school science.

Entrants can enter themselves or be nominated, with prizes available for both individuals and teams. The Eureka Prizes are open to those who work in research institutes, government departments, media, schools, corporations and universities, just to name a few. It’s completely free to enter and there is a prize pool of $160,000 up for grabs!

Professor Elena Ivanova accepts the 2017 UNSW Eureka Prize for Scientific Research
Professor Elena Ivanova accepts the 2017 UNSW Eureka Prize for Scientific Research Image: Daniel O'Doherty
© Australian Museum

In 2018 there are 16 prizes on offer, covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines and aiming to recognise the work of scientists and researchers at all career stages. Whether you’re a primary school student or a data scientist, know a science leader of the next generation, are undertaking a citizen science project or work in an interdisciplinary research team, there’s an opportunity for you to put work forward.

Also amongst this year’s prize program is the Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science, which we’re excited to be relaunching as part of the 2018 program. Sponsored by Celestino, this prize is awarded to an Australian scientist working in any of STEMM fields who is sharing their area of expertise with a broad public audience. If you are - or know - a scientist passionate about engaging the public in your work, we want to hear from you!

Many past Eureka Prize finalists and winners have enjoyed significant media coverage and received major grants following their selection. Some have also gone on to win high profile awards, such as 2018 Australian of the Year Professor Michelle Simmons, 2016 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science winner Professor Rick Shine and 2012 Emmy Award winner Sonya Pemberton.

So, it’s time to start preparing your entry or nomination!

To learn more about the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes and access a range of resources, visit our website. You can also connect with us on Twitter @eurekaprizes and join the #Eureka18 conversation, or sign up to our e-newsletter for key updates throughout the year.

Entries close 7pm AEST Friday 4 May 2018