Will this be your Eureka year?

The 2015 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes were a huge success, wrapping up the year with:

  • 16 prizes awarded across four categories;
  • 1750 scientists, journalists, students and teachers contributing to entries;
  • 66 judges;
  • 49 finalists;
  • 29 trophies; and
  • $160,000 in prize money awarded.

Entries for the 2016 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are now open – will this be your Eureka year?

Now in its 27th year, the Eureka Prizes reward outstanding Australian science with 16 prizes in four categories:

  • Research & Innovation
  • Leadership
  • Science Communication
  • School Science

There are also two exciting new prizes in 2016.

Firstly, the Johnson & Johnson Eureka Prize for Innovation in Medical Research will be awarded to an individual or team for innovation in medical research that is changing and improving people's lives.

And the Department of Industry, Innovation and Science Eureka Prize for Innovation in Citizen Science will be awarded to an individual or team for demonstrated excellence in citizen science practice, through an innovative research and community engagement project.

There are a number of resources available to assist entrants, nominators and assessors, including our FAQs and judges' tips to creating the perfect entry. We’ll also be sharing advice from our 2015 winners and finalists.

It’s time to start thinking about your entry or nomination. Are you Australia’s next science star?