Sydney, 19 July 2023: The Australian Museum (AM) today announced the eight distinguished finalists selected in the Leadership category at the prestigious 2023 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes.

2023 AM Eureka Prizes – Finalist
Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science Dr Tongliang Liu, University of Sydney Image: Emlyn Crockett
© University of Sydney

From transforming cancer research to advocating for trustworthy artificial intelligence, this year’s AM Eureka Prizes feature Australia’s leading scientific minds, acclaimed for their significant contributions in their respective fields of science.

Finalists across Australia are vying for three AM Eureka Prizes in Leadership: Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science; Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and Innovation; and the University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers.

Professor Kristofer Helgen, Chief Scientist and Director of the Australian Museum Research Institute (AMRI), said, "Leadership in science is about steering the pursuit of knowledge, fostering innovation, and cultivating future generations of researchers. It's through such leadership that we tackle the world's most pressing issues and push the boundaries of what we believe is possible. Our 2023 leadership finalists embody the very essence of scientific leadership and play a critical role in shaping our understanding of the world and how we navigate its challenges."

The 2023 Australian Museum Eureka Prize Finalists in Leadership are:

Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science

Associate Professor Laura Bray, Queensland University of Technology

Associate Professor Laura Bray is a rising leader addressing the significant need for new preclinical models in biomedical research. Applying state-of-the-art bioengineering techniques, she has developed sophisticated 3D human tissue models as innovative devices for drug and toxicity testing. Her leadership has been recognised in the scientific, clinical and industry sectors.

Dr Tongliang Liu, University of Sydney

As director of the Sydney AI Centre and founder of the Trustworthy Machine Learning Lab, Dr Tongliang Liu leads teams of researchers to ensure artificial intelligence (AI) is more accurate, fair and responsible. His own theories and algorithms, designed to advance trustworthiness, are shaping how AI is developed and applied globally.

Dr Stephanie Partridge, University of Sydney

Dr Stephanie Partridge harnesses technology and nutrition science to improve youth wellbeing. Putting adolescent experiences at the heart of her research and advocacy, she collaborates with young people to learn how technology can help them live a healthier lifestyle. Her work has informed major public health policies in Australia and globally.

Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and Innovation

Professor Michael Kassiou, University of Sydney

Professor Michael Kassiou is driving new approaches to drug discovery for challenging health conditions such as brain disorders and cardiovascular disease. Combining medicinal chemistry, disease biology and advanced imaging, his discoveries have been commercialised by three start-ups. As a leader and mentor, he also fosters the next generation of medical innovators.

Professor Peter Quinn, University of Western Australia

Professor Peter Quinn is a world-renowned astrophysicist who led discoveries about the nature of dark matter. He played a leading role in Australia's successful bid to host the Square Kilometre Array telescope, and supports the next generation of astronomers as Founding Director of the International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research.

University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers

Professor Maria Forsyth AM, Deakin University

Professor Maria Forsyth is committed to developing Australia's capability in materials science and engineering through mentoring students, postdoctoral fellows and early career researchers. She has been pivotal in integrating her mentees into academic and applied research organisations around the world, and recognises them as future educators, problem solvers and leaders.

Professor Kate Jolliffe, University of Sydney

Strategically and empathetically mentoring over 150 researchers, Professor Kate Jolliffe has nurtured the careers of many leaders. She established both national and international supramolecular chemistry networking groups, which fostered collaborations, as well as promoting gender equality and strengthening Australia's global research standing in this field.

Professor Renae Ryan AM, University of Sydney

Professor Renae Ryan has advanced the careers of many young researchers through mentorship, networking and advocacy. Driving university-wide gender equity initiatives and founding the Sydney Medical School Early Career Researcher Network, she helped increase representation of women at professor level in her faculty, fostering a more inclusive and supportive academic environment.

The AM Eureka Prizes, Australia's most comprehensive science awards, distribute $180,000 in prize money across a vast range of research areas, from environmental studies to innovative technologies, citizen science, leadership, and mentoring.

The winners of the 2023 AM Eureka Prizes will be unveiled on Wednesday 23 August at an awards ceremony held at the Australian Museum. An online livestream of the awards will also be accessible to all audiences on the night. Register for the livestream at

For more information and a full list of 2023 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes finalists.

Event details

What: Australian Museum Eureka Prizes Award Ceremony
Where: Hintze Hall, Australian Museum, corner of College and William Streets, Sydney
Theatre style award ceremony attended by 400 guests and live broadcast online
When: Wednesday 23 August 2023
Live broadcast from 7:30pm AEST via

Interviews available with finalists
Media pack, including releases, finalist info, images and video HERE

Twitter: @eurekaprizes Facebook: @eurekaprizes

Media Enquiries

Sanika Karnik, Communications Advisor
E: M: 0466 635 010

Matt Fraser, Director of Communications
E: M: 0401 326 007

Claire Vince, Media and Communications Adviser
0468 726 910
E Claire.Vince@Australian.Museum