Eureka prize winners 2016
Eureka Prizes 2016 Image: Daniel O'Doherty
© Australian Museum

Celebrating excellence in Australian science.

Presented annually by the Australian Museum, the Eureka Prizes are now in their 28th year. Entries and nominations for the 2017 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are now open. Could this be your Eureka year?

There are 15 prizes and $150,000 of prize money on offer rewarding excellence in the fields of:

  • research & innovation
  • leadership
  • science engagement
  • school science

We’re also excited to launch a brand new prize. The University of Technology Sydney Eureka Prize for Excellence in Data Science will be awarded to an individual or team who have made either breakthrough discoveries in data science or a significant impact with their research into data science.

Whether you’re shaking up research with big data, running an impactful research lab, inspiring hundreds with your citizen science project, and more, now is the time to start thinking about your entry or nomination.

There are a number of resources available to assist entrants, nominators and assessors, including our FAQs and tips from judges and past winners to help you create a stand out entry.

For more information on the Australian Museum Eureka Prizes visit