Research at the Australian Museum involves the study of our collections and how they tell us about our world and history. We seek to ensure that our research is relevant and innovative, drawing on the vast resources of knowledge within our collection. The Science Advisory Board provides an objective viewpoint on our research and assists the Museum in communicating its research activities to the wider public.

Terms of Reference


The role of the Science Advisory Board is to provide advice to the Director and CEO of the Museum, the Director of the Australian Museum Research Institute and the Australian Museum Trust on the strategic direction of research and collections. In so doing, the Advisory Board will be mindful of the Australian Museum’s Act, and its responsibility to conduct work in biology and geology and anthropology, and of the current aspirations and strategic priorities, as set out by the Director and listed below, including to:

  • Conduct and publish scholarly research that is world leading
  • Maintain and make available world class collections

And to emphasise:

  • Contemporary discovery
  • Impacts of change
  • Supporting Australian industry
  • Cultural diversity

The Science Advisory Board will:

  • Advise on initiatives
  • Provide networks and contacts to promote collaboration
  • Provide support and help communicate and publicise the importance of the projects, particularly in order to generate resources or allow implementation of projects.


The Australian Museum Science Advisory Board comprises a broad cross-section of the Australian scientific and business community, including industry, education, academia, government and research institutions.

At August 2023, Advisory Board members and years of service are shown below:

  • Professor Kathy Belov AO – Chair; Pro Vice-Chancellor (Global and Research) Engagement, Professor of Comparative Genomics, School of Life and Environmental Sciences, University of Sydney and AM Trustee
  • Dr Georgina Kelly – Executive Director, Science, Economics, and Insights Division, Department of Planning, Industry and Environment (4)
  • Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte – NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer and Natural Resources Commissioner (2)
  • Rosie Hicks – CEO, Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC) (2)
  • Professor Martina Doblin – Director and CEO, Sydney Institute of Marine Science (SIMS); Professor, Climate Change Cluster Research Institute, University Technology Sydney (2)
  • Distinguished Professor Sean Ulm – Director, ARC Centre of Excellence for Indigenous and Environmental Histories and Futures (CIEHF) (2)
  • Margaret Shepherd – President of Science Teachers Association NSW; Lecturer, Science Curriculum and Teaching, Australian Catholic University (2)
  • Pamela Naidoo-Ameglio – Group Executive, Nuclear Operations and Nuclear Medicine, Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) (2)
  • Dr Michelle Baker – Principal Research Scientist, Australian Centre for Disease Preparedness, CSIRO (2)
  • Professor Lesley Hughes – Professor, Interim Executive Dean, Faculty of Science and Engineering and Distinguished Professor of Biology, Macquarie University (2)
  • Professor Alistair Poore – Head of School, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of New South Wales (2)
  • Brian Hartzer – President of the AM Trust
  • Kim McKay AO – ex officio Director and CEO, AM
  • Professor Kris Helgen – ex officio Chief Scientist and Director, AMRI

Former members include:

  • Dr Linda Broadhurst – Director, Centre for Australian National Biodiversity Research Director, Australian National Herbarium Group Leader Botanical Collections CSIRO National Research Collection Australia
  • Professor Michael Withford – Distinguished Professor, Macquarie University and Director of the OptoFab Node, Australian National Fabrication Facility
  • Dr Jim Peacock – Fellow, CSIRO and former Chief Scientist of Australia
  • Professor Steve Simpson – ARC Laureate Fellow, University of Sydney with museum leadership experience
  • Adam Williams - Science Educator, Summer Hill Public School and Science Education expert
  • Dr Kate Wilson – Executive Director, Communities and Greater Sydney at Office of Environment and Heritage
  • Dr Joanne Daly - Former Strategic Advisor, Science, Strategy & People, CSIRO
  • Professor John Mattick - Executive Director, Garvan Institute of Medical Research and genomics expert
  • Catherine Livingstone - ex officio, President of the AM Trust