Classical Music Weekends onsite information

Australian Museum Classical Music Weekends | 10:00am- 1:00pm, 28 November 2020 to 31 January 2021
Date Musicians
Saturday 28 November 2020 ACO musicians
Sunday 29 November 2020 ACO musicians
Saturday 5 December 2020 SYO String Trio
Sunday 6 December 2020 SYO String Quartet
Saturday 12 December 2020 SYO String Trio
Sunday 13 December 2020 SYO String Quartet
Saturday 19 December 2020 ACO musicians
Sunday 20 December 2020 ACO musicians
Saturday 26 December 2020 SYO String Trio
Sunday 27 December 2020 SYO String Quartet
Saturday 2 January 2021 ACO musicians
Sunday 3 January 2021 ACO musicians
Saturday 9 January 2021 Australian Brandenburg Orchestra
Sunday 10 January 2021 Australian Brandenburg Orchestra
Saturday 16 January 2021 ACO musicians
Sunday 17 January 2021 ACO musicians
Saturday 23 January 2021 SYO String Trio
Sunday 24 January 2021 SYO String Quartet
Saturday 30 January 2021 Australian Brandenburg Orchestra
Sunday 31 January 2021 ACO musicians

Australian Chamber Orchestra

On 28 and 29 November, 19 and 20 December 2020 and 2, 3, 16, 17 and 31 January 2021, celebrated musicians from the acclaimed Australian Chamber Orchestra, perform on exquisite Golden Age instruments up to 400 years in age.

The quartet is led by Ilya Isakovich, who performs on his Marcin Groblicz violin, made in 1600.

Ilya is joined by Maja Savnik playing her 1714 Giuseppe Guarneri, ex Isolde Menges violin, Nicole Divall on viola and Melissa Barnard on a beautiful 1846 Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume cello.


  • Repertoire includes:

    • Mozart: String Quartet No. 18 - 1st, 2nd and 4th movements
    • Borodin: Nocturno from Quartet No.2
    • Mendelssohn: 1st movement from Quartet No.4
    • Tchaikovsky: Andante Cantabile from Quartet No.1

Sydney Youth Orchestra

On 5,6, 12, 13, 26 and 27 December 2020, 23 and 24 January 2021, Sydney Youth Orchestras’ trio and quartet, comprised of the section principals from the organisation's flagship ensemble present a varied, exciting program for the Australian Museum series.

Sydney Youth Orchestras String Trio

Saturdays 5, 12 and 26 December 2020, 23 January 2021

The trio is led by James Armstrong on violin, Alison Eom on viola and Alisdair Guiney on cello.


  • The Trio’s repertoire includes:

    • Coldplay: Viva la Vida – 4’
    • Schubert: String Trio No. 1 in Bb major – 11’
    • Piazzolla: Libertango – 4’
    • Boccherini: String Trio No. 4 in F major – 15’
    • Elgar: Nimrod from Enigma Variations – 4’

Sydney Youth Orchestras String Quartet

Sundays 6, 13 and 27 December 2020 and 24 January 2021

The quartet is led by first violin, James Armstrong, with Alex Paterson on second violin, Alison Eom on viola and Alisdair Guiney on cello.


  • The Quartet’s repertoire includes:

    • Mozart: String Quartet No. 3 in G major – 15’
    • Vance Joy: Riptide – 4’
    • Haydn: String Quartet Op. 1 No. 1 in Bb major – 17’
    • Beyonce: Halo – 3’
    • Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 – Allegro moderato – 2’

Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

On 9, 10 and 30 January 2021

Artistic Director Paul Dyer and Principal Traverso Melissa Farrow have combined their creative energies to curate a sweet and vibrant program of Baroque and Classical chamber music inspired by folk traditions of the British Isles. Melissa Farrow will be joined by Anthea Cottee (period cello) and James Armstrong (period violin).


  • Repertoire includes:

    • Franz Joseph Haydn Divertimento in D major from London Trios, Hob IV:6
    • Carl Friedrich Abel Trio Sonata in C major, Op. 16 No. 3, WK 100
    • Ignaz Josef Pleyel Duo for violin and cello in B-flat major, B 513
    • Franz Joseph Haydn Divertimento in G major from London Trios, Hob IV:3