Live music at the Australian Museum
Sydney Conservatorium of Music saxophonist performing in the Australian Museum's Westpac Long Gallery. Image: Steven Siewert
© Australian Museum

Every weekend until 19 December, you can immerse your senses and discover ensembles from the esteemed Australian Chamber Orchestra, Sydney Youth Orchestra and jazz collective, The Marauders, playing a wide program of new sounds and old favourites for everyone.

The Marauders

Sydney-based acoustic jazz band The Marauders entertain with swinging jazz standards, hotter than hot atomic clock swing and spicy renditions of beloved jazz standards. Featuring artists including George Washingmachine (vocals/ violin), Nigel Date (guitar), Adam Barnard (drums), and Stan Valacos (double bass).

Australian Chamber Orchestra (ACO)

The Australian Chamber Orchestra are 17 musicians who live and breathe music. Led by Artistic Director Richard Tognetti, the ACO make waves around the world for explosive performances, adventurous cross-artform collaborations and dynamic programs that embrace celebrated classics alongside new music and commissions.

For Music at the Museum, violinist Ilya Isakovich is joined by fellow ACO players Liisa Pallandi (violin) Elizabeth Woolnough (viola) and Melissa Barnard (cello).

Sydney Youth Orchestra (SYO)

The Sydney Youth Orchestra's ensembles for Music at the Museum are comprised of section principals from the Sydney Youth Orchestra, the organisation's flagship ensemble. Since 1973, SYO has been the training ground for Australia’s future professional musicians, its alumni taking their place in every major orchestra in Australia.

SYO is excited to present a varied programme for the AM, ranging from the classics of Bach, Mozart & Haydn to the less conventional chamber repertoire of Beyonce, Rihanna and Vance Joy!


Music at the Museum schedule
Date Company
Saturday, 16 October 2021 The Marauders
Sunday, 17 October 2021 The Marauders
Saturday, 23 October 2021 Australian Chamber Orchestra
Sunday, 24 October 2021 Australian Chamber Orchestra
Saturday, 30 October 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Sunday, 31 October 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Saturday, 6 November 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Sunday, 7 November 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Saturday, 13 November 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Sunday, 14 November 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Saturday, 20 November 2021 Australian Chamber Orchestra
Sunday, 21 November 2021 Australian Chamber Orchestra
Saturday, 27 November 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Sunday, 28 November 2021 Sydney Youth Orchestra
Saturday, 4 December 2021 Australian Chamber Orchestra
Sunday, 5 December 2021 Australian Chamber Orchestra
Saturday, 11 December 2021 The Marauders
Sunday, 12 December 2021 The Marauders
Saturday, 18 December 2021 The Marauders
Sunday, 19 December 2021 The Marauders

The Australian Museum is COVID Safe

The Australian Museum is observing strict physical distancing and hygiene measures to protect the health of visitors and staff and minimise the spread of COVID-19 (coronavirus).

Wearing a fitted face mask is encouraged while inside the AM. Please bring your own mask when you visit.

Read the latest visitation information here.